'Species' – Fidelio Trio Winter Chamber Music Festival Lunchtime Concert

25 November 2023 13:00

National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin

Darragh Morgan (Violin), Jane Atkins (Viola), Tim Gill (Cello).

'Species' forms a focal point of the eleventh Fidelio Trio Winter Chamber Music Festival on Saturday 25th November.

The trio will be joined by acclaimed violist Jane Atkins in the scenic upper room of the National Botanic Gardens for ‘Species’, featuring music inspired by the teeming life of the gardens. This free lunchtime concert features four entirely new works by CMC composers Fergal Dowling, Siobhán Cleary, Seán Ó Dálaigh, and Gráinne Mulvey, especially written for the violinist Darragh Morgan and electronics.

This project is coordinated by locally-based composer Fergal Dowling and funded by the Arts Council Music Project Award.

The concert will also feature Alfred Schnittke's String Trio and the Italian classical composer Maddalena Laura Lombardini Sirmen's String Trio Sonata No 1.


Alfred Schnittke -  String Trio
Maddalena Laura Lombardini Sirmen - String Trio Op 1
Siobhán Cleary -  Will o' the Wisp (World premiere)
Seán Ó Dálaigh - The Butterfly (World premiere)
Fergal Dowling - Species (World premiere)
Gráinne Mulvey - Echium Pininana “Tower of Jewels” (World premiere)


Free event, booking available via Eventbrite.


National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin

Dublin 9

Venue Contact Info