hcmf//: The Landscape Series

19 November 2023 22:00

Bates Mill Photographic Studio

Image © Óscar Mascareñas

The Landscape Series is a Diatribe Records collection inviting the listener on an immersive journey through the new sounds of our time and place – an exploration of the way in which human interactions transform, transmogrify and transmute our environment.

Óscar Mascareñas’ Burrenscapes is a collection of experiences and sonic impressions of the Burren in Co. Clare. Through this series of poetic sound essays, he pays homage to these vast, barren and breath-taking landscapes. Irene Murphy’s Not just Rivers is created with a sonic sculptural instrument made from dislocating elements of the built landscape as a study of the Gearagh River delta, where western Europe’s last primeval river forest was submerged beneath the flood waters of a hydroelectric reservoir in 1954.

Ann Cleare’s An Cúigiú Cúige invokes the idea of the centre, particularly the Midlands of Ireland and to the ancient province of Midhe. Through the synthesis of ancient Irish words, poetry and field recordings, this works seeks to recover, reclaim and reanimate a lost centre, offering new perceptions of what centredness, sovereignty, and collectivity might mean. Natalia Beylis’ Prophecy of the Beetle is a study of trees from the folklore of ancient woodlands to the solastalgia of modern forestry, using the patterns and textures of beetle-gnawed bark as graphic scores for new works for acoustic instruments and multi-channel tape. The programme concludes with the world premiere of a new work from the Landscape Series collection, Alltar.

Produced by hcmf// as part of The Current Climate; supported by Culture Ireland

The Landscape Series is supported by The Arts Council of Ireland | An Chomhairle Ealaíon

An Cúigiú Cúige includes elements of Midhe, commissioned by the New Music Dublin Festival 2023 and the National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland


Óscar Mascareñas - Burrenscapes (2022) 12’ UK Premiere

Óscar Mascareñas voice / viola d’amore / electronics
Steve Boyland voice
Cathy Purcell demungs


Irene Murphy - Not Just Rivers (2022) 12’ UK Premiere

Irene Murphy found and amplified objects / field recordings
Mick O’Shea amplified objects


Ann Cleare - An Cúigiú Cúige (2023) 12’ UK Premiere

Ann Cleare live electronics
Michelle O’Rourke voice
Dermot Dunne accordion


Natalia Beylis - Prophecy of the Beetle (2022) 12’ UK Premiere

Natalia Beylis tapes / field recordings / electronics
Willie Stewart percussion
Eimear Reidy cello

Landscape Series - Alltar (2023) 12’ World Premiere


Tickets £16 // Concession £12 // Under 30s £5
Advance booking required at the hcmf website.


Bates Mill Photographic Studio

Milford Street
West Yorkshire HD1 3DX

Venue Contact Info