New Music Dublin 2024: TERRARIUM

28 April 2024 19:00

The Studio, National Concert Hall

Photo by Laura Sheeran.

Crash Ensemble: Susan Doyle, flute; Leonie Bluett, clarinet; Roddy O’Keeffe, trombone; Barry O’Halpin, electric guitar; Alex Petcu, percussion; Eliza McCarthy, piano / keyboard; Larissa O’Grady, violin; Robin Panter, viola; Kate Ellis, cello; Malachy Robinson, double bass

Laura Sheeran - film / photography and movement direction

Lay of the Land - tapestry

Adrian Hart - audio producer

Eoin Lennon - Lighting​

Venture into a landscape of time at this awe-inspiring world premiere, as you journey with Crash Ensemble through historic Irish countryside to a vanished Mesolithic lake.

TERRARIUM was commissioned in 2020 and written during Ann Cleare’s time as composer in residence with Crash, and created in collaboration with site-responsive artists Lay of the Land and videographer and director Laura Sheeran. Immersive and multi-layered, this exploration of the evolving geological strata of Ireland’s boglands transports you to one of the earliest sites of human activity in the country’s history at Lough Boora, Offaly—peeling back layers of memory and myth embedded within its fascinating, post-industrial terrain.​

While this performance is not specifically designed toward individuals with sensory sensitivities, sensory packages will be available on request. These packages contain items to help with sensory processing for those with noise or light or other sensitivities. Packages will be available in the Carolan Room for a nominal refundable rental fee.


Ann Cleare - TERRARIUM (2024) [world premiere]​​

TERRARIUM is a co-commission of Crash Ensemble, November Music and Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.

Crash Ensemble is supported by the Arts Council and Dublin City Council.


€17.50, multibuy ticket offers available. Booking via New Music Dublin here.​


The Studio, National Concert Hall

Earlsfort Terrace
Dublin 2

Venue Contact Info

01 417 0000