Music of our time - RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra perform Ann Cleare's 'eyam v (woven)'

Tue 14 Feb 2017 - 13:05

National Concert Hall

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, conductor Gavin Maloney.


Julian Anderson: The Discovery of Heaven
Ann Cleare: eyam v (woven) (premiere - RTÉ commission)

Gavin Maloney -  conductor
Richard Craig - flute
Carol McGonnell - clarinet.

The programme for this free ticketed event featurers the premiere of Ann Cleare's eyam v (woven), an RTÉ commission. The work is the final piece in her eyam series, which includes five connecting pieces for clarinets and flutes in various solo, ensemble, electronic and orchestral settings.  Eyam is a small village in Derbyshire, England. The village is best known for being the "plague village" that chose to isolate itself when the plague was discovered there in August 1665, rather than let the infection spread. In this work, the village stands as a metaphor for ideas of isolation and infiltration that are sonically explored across the eyam pieces. 


National Concert Hall

Earlsfort Terrace
Dublin 2

Venue Contact Info

01 417 0000