New Music Dublin 2024: NSO - Haigh, Buckley & Dennehy

26 April 2024 19:30

Main Stage, National Concert Hall

National Symphony Orchestra; David Brophy, conductor; Iarla Ó Lionáird, voice; Stephen Waarts, violin.

From dreamlike, clouded visions of the future to fiery, virtuosic playing on the edge of possibility, this performance by the National Symphony Orchestra features two Irish premieres alongside the world premiere of a newly commissioned work by award-winning CMC composer Linda Buckley.

Described as ‘magnificently expressive’ (New York Times), vocalist Iarla Ó Lionáird is the featured soloist in Buckley’s Tuile agus Trá, which forms the centrepiece of this programme. Opening the concert is SLEEPTALKER by Robin Haigh (2023 recipient of the NCH Jerome Hynes Young Composer Award), an atmospheric exploration of dreams as metaphors for predictions of the future—while CMC Composer Donnacha Dennehy's Violin Concerto with internationally acclaimed soloist Stephen Waarts brings the evening to a thrilling conclusion.​

Linda Buckley’s Tuile agus Trá is commissioned by the National Symphony Orchestra and New Music Dublin.


Robin Haigh - SLEEPTALKER (2021) [Irish premiere]

Linda Buckley - Tuile agus Trá (2024) [world premiere]

Donnacha Dennehy - Violin Concerto (2020) [Irish premiere] ​


€20,multibuy ticket offers available. Booking via New Music Dublin here.


Main Stage, National Concert Hall

Earlsfort Terrace
Dublin 2

Venue Contact Info

01 417 0000