Young Composers Meeting 2020 - Applications now open

Deadline: 15 October 2019 17:00

From February 23rd - 28th 2020, the 26th annual Young Composers Meeting will take place in Apeldoorn, The Netherlands. It is organised by orkest de ereprijs in collaboration with the International Gaudeamus Music Week.

The Young Composers Meeting allows young composers to develop their talents by writing a piece for the orchestra de ereprijs. Works by sixteen selected candidates will be rehearsed and performed. Under the supervision of senior composers Martijn Padding, Richard Ayres, Andrew Hamilton, Dyane Donck and Seung-Won Oh, the participants will be involved in clinics, lectures and excursions. This is the perfect opportunity for young composers to gain experience and knowledge, as well as build a relevant network within their field.

The senior composers will appoint three winners from among the participants, each of whom will receive a commission.

Requirements for participation in the Young Composers Meeting:
Young composers up to 30 years of age and of any nationality are invited to apply for participation before October 15, 2019.

To apply, please send all the documents below via WeTransfer to
- Application form (PDF)
- Biography (PDF)
- At least one score of a recent composition (PDF)
- Recording of a recent composition (MP3)

We will make a selection of maximum 16 participants. The applicants will be informed about their acceptance November 15 at the latest.

The selected applicants are requested to enter a short work (3 minutes) for de ereprijs. The 3-minute compositions will be rehearsed during the week and performed at the final concert. The 3-minute work should be entered before January 15, 2020. Details concerning the instrumentation of de ereprijs will be communicated after the selection.

- The participation fee is €450,-, this includes accommodation, meals and bike rental.
- The participants will stay in shared rooms in a hotel in Apeldoorn.
- The participants have to take care of their own transport to Apeldoorn.
- At the closing concert, three promising composers will be commissioned to write a new composition.