RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra & Contemporary Music Centre announce Composer Lab 2018.

Deadline: Fri 06 Oct 2017 - 17:00

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra & Contemporary Music Centre announce Composer Lab 2018. Composer Lab is aimed at composers who wish to write for Symphony Orchestra and are registered with the Contemporary Music Centre. Now in its third year, it is an initiative of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra in partnership with the Contemporary Music Centre.

Composer Lab is open to composers who have had limited opportunities to write for symphony orchestra/large-scale ensemble and aims to provide these composers with a creative and open environment to deepen their experience in writing for symphonic forces.

What happens in the Composer Lab?

 • A maximum of four composers will be selected to take part.
 • Selected composers will be expected to prepare a 6–8 minute work for symphony orchestra ( / / tmp+3 / hp / str) (no electronics).
 • This work in progress will be the focus of a preparatory meeting with Composer Lab mentor, David Fennessy at the CMC in early January 2018.
 • This work will then be the focus of a workshop with RTÉ NSO section principals (or section leaders) on 13 February 2018.
 • This  completed  work,  full  score  and  parts  will  be  submitted  to the  Contemporary Music Centre for copying on the 5 March 2018.
 • Following this, the work will be the  focus of an intensive public workshop with the RTÉ NSO, conductor Gavin Maloney and mentor David Fennessy on the 9 April 2018.
 • On completion of subsequent revisions to the score and parts, the composers’ works will be performed by the RTÉ NSO in a public concert on the evening of Tuesday, 1 May.

Would you like to apply for the Composer Lab?
The RTÉ NSO and CMC are now seeking expressions of interest in this initiative. In order to make a submission, composers must submit the following by email to submissions@cmc.ie by 5pm on Friday, 6 October 2017 (please put Composer Lab in the subject heading).

More info:  composer_lab_2018.pdf