Call for Works - Nottingham New Music Weekend

Deadline: 8 March 2020 23:45

Nottingham Forum for Artistic Research (NottFAR) invites submission of compositions and sound works that will be performed and presented as part of the Nottingham New Music Weekend (May 7-10, 2020). Performers include trombonist John Kenny, flutist Carla Rees, and clarinettist Sarah Watts. Electroacoustic and acousmatic works will be presented in partnership with the De Montfort University’s Institute of Sonic Creativity. There are four categories flute & clarinet duo (with/without piano/electronics); solo (flute; clarinet; trombone; double bass - with/without piano/electronics); electroacoustic/acousmatic works; sound installation.

Eligibility: The call is open to all composers of any age or nationality that work in and outside of academia. Submitted works may have been performed previously or unperformed. Selected composers are expected to attend the performance of their where possible. Please note that composers can submit no more than two works.

Deadline for Submissions: Sunday, March 8th 2020 (23:59 GMT). Late entries will not be accepted. Selected decisions are final, and no further correspondence will be entered into. Applicants will be notified by the end of March 2020.

Financial assistance: NottFAR is unable to provide financial assistance to cover the costs of travel and accommodation for artists accepted to the open call.  However, we will provide a small amount of £100 bursaries and symposium fee waivers for artists who are not in full-time salaried employment. Bursaries and fee waivers are contingent on your open call proposal being accepted by our committee and will be prioritised by need. We can also provide letters of support for individuals applying for funding. For any further queries, please contact:

Elizabeth Kelly (University of Nottingham)
Duncan MacLeod (University of Nottingham)
Annie Mahtani (University of Birmingham)
Carla Rees (University of Sheffield)
Sarah Watts (Royal Holloway, University of London)
John Young (De Montford University)