Amatis Piano Trio premiere Amanda Feery work

8 October 2018 20:00

Linenhall Arts Centre

Lea Hausmann, violin
Samuel Shepherd, cello 
Mengjie Han, piano


Franz Joseph Haydn: Trio in C major, Hob XV:27 
Robert Schumann: Trio No. 3 in G minor, Op. 110      
Amanda Feery: New commission by Music Network (world premiere)
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49 
Just weeks after forming in 2014, this exhilarating young piano trio won the audience prize at the Grachtenfestival-Concours in Amsterdam, quickly leading to their debut at the Royal Concertgebouw. Since then, they’ve taken the chamber music scene by storm, winning a slew of international prizes including the 2015 International Parkhouse Award in Wigmore Hall. For the 2018/2019 season, the trio has been selected as ‘Rising Stars’ by the European Concert Hall Organisation, which will see them perform in 23 prestigious concert venues across Europe.
The three players combine to create a gloriously balanced sound, the sensitivity of Dutch/Chinese pianist Mengjie Han a wonderful counterpoint to the exuberant energy of British cellist Samuel Shepherd and the delicate precision of German violinist Lea Hausmann. Known for playing intense and often highly charged programmes, with a repertoire spanning from Haydn to Shostakovich, the trio is equally committed to contemporary works, in 2015 founding the Dutch Piano Trio Composition Prize to encourage young composers to further the repertoire. On this tour they will premiere a new work by Irish composer Amanda Feery, commissioned by Music Network. 
Image by Marco Borggreve

Linenhall Arts Centre

Co. Mayo

Venue Contact Info

094 - 23733